Darsait Titans claim D20 crown

The Darsait Titans, co-owned by Majees Technical Services LLC, won the title from winning just 3 out of 7 games before winning two back to back games to claim the championship while Qurum Thunders were 2nd in the league stage winning 6 out of 7 of their matches and beating Amerat Royals in the semi-finals.

Winning the toss and playing to their strengths, Darsait Titans opted to bowl first. The Thunders openers got off to a salient start courtesy Kashyap Prajapati (45 of 30;6×4,1×6) and Aiyappa CR.

Shoaib Khan (59 of 42;9×4) cruised the Qurum innings in the middle overs with Ayaan Khan finishing off in style to mark 189 runs in 20 overs.
Jan Shafiq (2/33) was the pick of the bowlers for the Titans. In response, Darsait Titans couldn’t get off a start they wanted but the experience and expertise of Zeeshan Maqsood (90 of 52; 6×4,7×6) takes them over the line with a six of the 2nd ball in the last over to seal the match for the titans.

He was well supported by Sahil Shaik , Karan Kannan and Ravindra L to ensure Darsait go home with the biggest piece.

Zeeshan Maqsood awarded Man of the Match for his stellar performance said, “It was a wicket I would like to bat on any day. I thank our groundstaff enabling us with such magnificent facilities. I have always loved batting at No.4 and with the situation and magnitude of the game, I knew I have to give my all to get over the line. I also sincerely thank Majees Cricket’s owners, management, support staff and my fellow team-mates because of which we stand here.

“I would dedicate this Man of the Match to my younger daughter and of course my family who have been supportive to me always. I would love carrying this form ahead in the season and for Oman in International Cricket to be able to contribute at my optimum.”

The post-match presentation ceremony was graced by Hisham Juma Al Sinani – Sports Development and Welfare for Ministry of Sports, Culture and Youth along with Paul Sheridan – Oman Cricket’s Vice Chairman , Alkesh Joshi – Oman Cricket’s Treasurer, Kiran Asher – Board Member , Oman Cricket and Duleep Mendis – Chief Development Officer , Oman Cricket.

Zeeshan Maqsood was given the Player of the Match by Kiran Asher while Kashyap Prajapati was handed over Player of the Tournament and a cash award by Oman Cricket for scoring 358 runs at an average of 51 by Alkesh Joshi.

The Runners Up trophy and cash award was given to Qurum Thunders by Paul Sheridan and the Champions Trophy along with the cash award by Oman Cricket was handed over to Darsait Titans by Hisham Juma Al Sinani.

The Oman D20 was thoroughly enjoyed by the domestic audience and gained a spectra of wide audience from across the globe through its quality broadcast consolidating the 14-day cricketing festival to curl curtains to it’s Season 2.